Skip to content
European CDMOs compared · 2026 census

CDMOs in France: 15 compared (2026)

15 of the 255 contract development and manufacturing organisations in A4BEE’s European census are headquartered in France. The largest, with revenue over €1bn, are Seqens. 6 sit between €250m and €1bn and 8 are smaller or niche.

By ownership: 4 family-owned, 4 private equity, 3 listed and 4 part of a pharma or industrial group. The most common capabilities are small-molecule API (5), sterile fill-finish (5), oral solid dose (4), peptide (3) and biologics and biosimilars (3). 9 of the 15 rows rest on audited reports or official company disclosures; the rest come from secondary sources or estimates.

15 companies

CDMOs in France

CompanyHQOwnershipSizeRevenue (as reported)ModalitiesData
SeqensLarge API/small-molecule CDMO plus specialty ingredients; ~200 APIs. Revenue includes non-pharma specialty ingredients.ÉcullyPrivate equitySK CapitalTier 1~€1.1 bn (group)Small-molecule API, Peptidehigh
DelpharmBoulogneFamily-ownedTier 2~€650 mOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finish, Biologics and biosimilarsmedium
EthypharmHybrid specialty pharma + CDMO; CDMO arm specializes in controlled substances, HPAPIs and modified-release oral.Saint-CloudPrivate equityPAI PartnersTier 2€135 m (2024, SAS)Oral solid dose, Small-molecule APImedium
EUROAPIEuronext Paris; Sanofi ~30% + Bpifrance. ~200 small-molecule APIs plus peptides and oligos.ParisListedTier 2€911.9 m (2024), −10%Small-molecule API, Peptidelow
Just-Evotec BiologicsEvotec's biologics CDMO arm; J.POD Toulouse opened 2024 as its first EU facility. Distinct from the small-molecule Aptuit (Evotec) site.ToulouseListedEvotecTier 2not disclosedMonoclonal antibody, Biologics and biosimilarsmedium
MinakemAPI and HPAPI CDMO (custom synthesis). Brand of the privately-held Minafin Group.DunkerqueFamily-ownedMinafin GroupTier 2not disclosedSmall-molecule APImedium
Unither PharmaceuticalsWorld leader in Blow-Fill-Seal sterile unit-dose liquids; also effervescent/oral formats.AmiensPrivate equityArdianTier 2€371 m (2022)Sterile fill-finish, Oral solid dosehigh
ABL EuropeViral-vector CDMO (adeno, lenti, AAV, pox/MVA). Acquired by Oxford Biomedica in 2024.LyonListedOxford BiomedicaTier 3not disclosedViral vector and vaccine, Cell and gene therapyhigh
Amatsigroup (Eurofins)French sterile CDMO within the Eurofins network.ToulousePart of a pharma or industrial groupEurofinsTier 3n/dSterile fill-finishlow
Cell-EasyCell-therapy CDMO (T/NK, MSCs, HSCs; autologous & allogeneic). Proprietary CellReady MSC platform.ToulouseFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapyhigh
CenexiSterile fill-finish specialist (injectables, ampoules, HPAPI sterile).Fontenay-sous-BoisPrivate equityCathay CapitalTier 3€191 m (2023)Sterile fill-finishhigh
GTP BiowaysBiologics CDMO (mAbs, proteins, nanodrugs, ADCs, fill-finish). Acquired by Italy's Olon; now Olon France.ToulousePart of a pharma or industrial groupOlon GroupTier 3~€12 mMonoclonal antibody, Biologics and biosimilars, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC), Microbial and protein, Sterile fill-finishhigh
PMC IsochemCustom API and peptide CDMO. Acquired by PMC Group (US) in 2017.Vert-le-PetitPart of a pharma or industrial groupPMC GroupTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Peptidehigh
SkyepharmaComplex oral-solid-dose specialist (modified-release, multi-layer/press-coated tablets). Management-owned.Saint-Quentin-FallavierFamily-ownedOléron PharmaTier 3~€20 m+ (site)Oral solid dosehigh
YposkesiCell & gene therapy CDMO (AAV + lentiviral vectors). Spun out of Genethon; SK pharmteco majority.Corbeil-EssonnesPart of a pharma or industrial groupSK pharmtecoTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapy, Viral vector and vaccinehigh

Size: Tier 1 (revenue over €1bn) · Tier 2 (€250m–€1bn) · Tier 3 (under €250m or niche).

Revenue, staff and site figures are as reported and mix audited accounts with commercial estimates, which are often wrong for private companies. Each row carries a confidence mark; verify a figure before quoting it.

Browse the census

Other European CDMO lists