Skip to content
European CDMOs compared · 2026 census

CDMOs in the United Kingdom: 25 compared (2026)

25 of the 255 contract development and manufacturing organisations in A4BEE’s European census are headquartered in the United Kingdom. The largest, with revenue over €1bn, are Almac Group and Fujifilm Diosynth. 4 sit between €250m and €1bn and 19 are smaller or niche.

By ownership: 5 family-owned, 14 private equity, 1 listed and 5 part of a pharma or industrial group. The most common capabilities are small-molecule API (12), sterile fill-finish (10), oral solid dose (9), biologics and biosimilars (8) and cell and gene therapy (6). 5 of the 25 rows rest on audited reports or official company disclosures; the rest come from secondary sources or estimates.

25 companies

CDMOs in the United Kingdom

CompanyHQOwnershipSizeRevenue (as reported)ModalitiesData
Almac Group£400 m+ capex program; broad clinical + diagnostics services alongside API.CraigavonFamily-ownedMcClay charitable trustTier 1£1.027 bn FY2024Small-molecule API, Peptide, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC)high
Fujifilm Diosynth~US$8 bn global capex; Hillerød (DK) site runs 12 bioreactors.BillinghamPart of a pharma or industrial groupFujifilmTier 1~US$2.0 bn (global)Biologics and biosimilars, Monoclonal antibody, Viral vector and vaccine, Cell and gene therapymedium
AbzenaIntegrated biologics / bioconjugate / ADC CDMO+CRO, UK-founded but increasingly US-centred — European-HQ status borderline. Fills the ADC/bioconjugation gap.CambridgePrivate equityWelsh, Carson, Anderson & StoweTier 2not disclosedBiologics and biosimilars, Monoclonal antibody, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC)low
Meribel Pharma SolutionsFormed 2025 from Synerlab + 7 Recipharm sites; classic multi-site integration play.LondonPrivate equityBlue WolfTier 2~€300 m est.Sterile fill-finish, Oral solid dosemedium
NextPharmaLondonPrivate equityTier 2~€229 mOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finishmedium
Quotient SciencesFull-service third-party CDMO (drug substance/product + clinical). UK-HQ under European PE.NottinghamPrivate equityPermiraTier 2not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Oral solid dose, Peptide, Sterile fill-finishlow
Bath ASUOne of the UK's largest independent aseptic 'specials' manufacturers — patient-specific chemo, CIVAS, PCA injectables for 220+ NHS trusts.CorshamPrivate equityTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finishmedium
BDD PharmaSmall CDMO/CRO for modified/controlled-release oral formulation dev (proprietary OralogiK). More formulation-dev than commercial scale.GlasgowPrivate equityTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Oral solid doselow
BespakDrug-delivery / combination-product CDMO (pMDI valves, DPI devices, inhaled/nasal). Spun out of Recipharm into a standalone EQT-backed CDMO (2024).King's LynnPrivate equityEQTTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finishmedium
CatSciContract development organisation (route scouting, API/HPAPI process dev, analytical) — the 'D' of CDMO; outsources scale-up.CardiffPrivate equityKeensight CapitalTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule APIlow
Custom Pharma ServicesFull-service oral-solid-dose CDMO (tablets/capsules/powders incl. HPAPI); process dev through commercial. Est. 1979.HoveFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Small-molecule APIhigh
eXmoor PharmaIndependent full-service cell & gene therapy CDMO + CMC consultancy.BristolPrivate equityMVM PartnersTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapy, Viral vector and vaccine, Biologics and biosimilarsmedium
Nova LaboratoriesIndependent aseptic-processing CDMO + 'Specials' supplier; sterile fill-finish for clinical-trial medicines.LeicesterFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finish, Monoclonal antibody, Biologics and biosimilars, Microbial and proteinmedium
Onyx ScientificSmall-molecule API / process-R&D CDMO; GMP API early phase to commercial. Owned by Ipca (India).SunderlandPart of a pharma or industrial groupIpca Laboratories (India)Tier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule APIlow
Oxford BiomedicaLSE-listed pure-play viral-vector / cell & gene therapy CDMO (lentiviral, AAV, adenoviral).OxfordListedTier 3£128.8 m (FY2024)Viral vector and vaccine, Cell and gene therapy, Biologics and biosimilars, mRNA and LNPhigh
Pharmaron Cramlington (formerly Aesica)Third-party commercial API CDMO HQ'd in Cramlington. Was Aesica (Recipharm); sold to Pharmaron 2022 and rebranded.CramlingtonPart of a pharma or industrial groupPharmaron (China)Tier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule APImedium
Quay Pharma (SGS)Formulation-development + clinical/commercial CDMO HQ'd in Deeside, Wales. Acquired by SGS (Switzerland).DeesidePart of a pharma or industrial groupSGSTier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Small-molecule APImedium
Rosemont PharmaceuticalsOral-liquid-medicines specialist (~60 yrs); primarily branded/specials but offers contract manufacturing/CDMO services.LeedsPrivate equityInflexionTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Oral solid dosemedium
RoslinCTAdvanced-therapy (cell & gene) CDMO spun out of the Roslin Institute. Manufactures CASGEVY, first FDA-approved CRISPR gene therapy.EdinburghPrivate equityGHO Capital / Pioneer GroupTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapyhigh
Sterling PharmaCramlingtonPrivate equityGHO CapitalTier 3~£130 m FY2023Small-molecule API, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC), Peptidemedium
Symbiosis Pharmaceutical ServicesIndependent sterile aseptic fill-finish CDMO (clinical + commercial): mAbs, ATMPs, viral vectors, ADCs, vaccines. FDA-inspected.StirlingFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finish, Monoclonal antibody, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC), Biologics and biosimilars, Cell and gene therapy, Small-molecule APImedium
TouchlightCDMO making enzymatic 'doggybone DNA' (dbDNA) as template for mRNA/viral-vector/genetic medicines. First synthetic-DNA maker with MHRA GMP API cert.LondonPrivate equityTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapy, mRNA and LNP, Viral vector and vaccinemedium
Upperton Pharma SolutionsSpray-drying specialist CDMO: formulation + dosage-form dev for oral, nasal, pulmonary and sterile forms (small molecules + biologics).NottinghamPrivate equityInflexionTier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finish, Biologics and biosimilarshigh
Wasdell GroupUK contract packaging + CDMO (solid/non-sterile dosage, clinical + commercial). Wound down Irish operations in 2024 — verify current status.SwindonFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finishmedium
Wockhardt UK (CP Pharmaceuticals)UK operating entity; third-party contract manufacture of sterile injectables (vials, cartridges, ampoules, lyo) alongside own generics.WrexhamPart of a pharma or industrial groupWockhardt (India)Tier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finish, Small-molecule API, Biologics and biosimilarsmedium

Size: Tier 1 (revenue over €1bn) · Tier 2 (€250m–€1bn) · Tier 3 (under €250m or niche).

Revenue, staff and site figures are as reported and mix audited accounts with commercial estimates, which are often wrong for private companies. Each row carries a confidence mark; verify a figure before quoting it.

Browse the census

Other European CDMO lists