Skip to content
European CDMOs compared · 2026 census

CDMOs in Ireland: 8 compared (2026)

8 of the 255 contract development and manufacturing organisations in A4BEE’s European census are headquartered in Ireland. None has revenue over €1bn. 0 sit between €250m and €1bn and 8 are smaller or niche.

By ownership: 4 family-owned, 1 private equity and 3 part of a pharma or industrial group. The most common capabilities are oral solid dose (6), small-molecule API (5), sterile fill-finish (5), biologics and biosimilars (2) and viral vector and vaccine (2). 5 of the 8 rows rest on audited reports or official company disclosures; the rest come from secondary sources or estimates.

8 companies

CDMOs in Ireland

CompanyHQOwnershipSizeRevenue (as reported)ModalitiesData
APC / VLE TherapeuticsIrish-founded (UCD spinout). APC = process-dev/CMC; sister VLE runs the GMP 'factory of the future' — the group has genuine manufacturing.DublinFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Biologics and biosimilars, Viral vector and vaccine, mRNA and LNPhigh
BimedaIrish family-owned global animal-health company; contract/private-label veterinary manufacturing (drenches, nutritional liquids, ecto-parasiticides).DublinFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Sterile fill-finish, Oral solid dosemedium
Chanelle PharmaIreland's largest indigenous generics maker (human + veterinary); explicitly offers CMO/CDMO services alongside own generics.LoughreaPrivate equityExponent Private EquityTier 3not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Oral solid dose, Sterile fill-finishhigh
EirGen PharmaIrish-HQ specialist HPAPI/oncology OSD CDMO (cytotoxic, genotoxic, steroidal) for external clients. Owned by OPKO (US).WaterfordPart of a pharma or industrial groupOPKO Health (US)Tier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Small-molecule APIhigh
Helsinn Birex PharmaceuticalsIrish-registered entity primarily making the Swiss parent's products; advertises third-party OSD + gel/cream contract manufacturing. Closer to captive site.DublinPart of a pharma or industrial groupHelsinn Group (Switzerland)Tier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finish, Small-molecule APIlow
HiTech HealthFirst Irish company licensed to contract-manufacture cell & gene therapies. End-to-end ATMP CDMO with EU/UK QP release.GalwayFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapy, Viral vector and vaccine, Biologics and biosimilarshigh
Ovelle PharmaceuticalsFamily-owned (since 1934). Own dermatology brands plus CMO/CDMO manufacturing of cosmetic, medical-device and licensed products.DundalkFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finish, Oral solid dosemedium
Pinewood HealthcareIrish-HQ operating entity with a dedicated contract-manufacturing division (non-beta-lactam sachets/powders, oral liquids, creams). Owned by Wockhardt (India).BallymacarbryPart of a pharma or industrial groupWockhardt (India)Tier 3not disclosedOral solid dose, Sterile fill-finishhigh

Size: Tier 1 (revenue over €1bn) · Tier 2 (€250m–€1bn) · Tier 3 (under €250m or niche).

Revenue, staff and site figures are as reported and mix audited accounts with commercial estimates, which are often wrong for private companies. Each row carries a confidence mark; verify a figure before quoting it.

Browse the census

Other European CDMO lists