Skip to content
European CDMOs compared · 2026 census

CDMOs in Belgium: 9 compared (2026)

9 of the 255 contract development and manufacturing organisations in A4BEE’s European census are headquartered in Belgium. None has revenue over €1bn. 3 sit between €250m and €1bn and 6 are smaller or niche.

By ownership: 1 family-owned, 4 private equity and 4 part of a pharma or industrial group. The most common capabilities are mRNA and LNP (5), peptide (2), cell and gene therapy (2), oral solid dose (2) and sterile fill-finish (2). 5 of the 9 rows rest on audited reports or official company disclosures; the rest come from secondary sources or estimates.

9 companies

CDMOs in Belgium

CompanyHQOwnershipSizeRevenue (as reported)ModalitiesData
Ajinomoto Bio-Pharma (OmniChem)Small-molecule API CDMO: HPAPIs, ADC conjugation, oligonucleotides, continuous-flow chemistry.WetterenPart of a pharma or industrial groupAjinomotoTier 2not disclosedSmall-molecule API, Peptide, Antibody-drug conjugate (ADC)high
ExotheraViral-vector and nucleic-acid CDMO; Univercells subsidiary. First CDMO with access to Quantoom's continuous-RNA Nfinity platform.JumetPart of a pharma or industrial groupUnivercellsTier 2not disclosedViral vector and vaccine, mRNA and LNP, Cell and gene therapyhigh
Quantoom BiosciencesmRNA manufacturing-platform and CDMO-enabling company (DNA/RNA production, formulation, reagents); Univercells group.NivellesPart of a pharma or industrial groupUnivercellsTier 2not disclosedmRNA and LNPlow
ArdenaNanomedicine/LNP + drug-substance/product + bioanalytical CDMO.GhentPrivate equityGHO CapitalTier 3n/dmRNA and LNP, Oral solid dose, Sterile fill-finishmedium
CellisticiPSC-based cell-therapy CDMO (launched 2022 by Ncardia). Venture-backed.GosseliesPrivate equityNcardiaTier 3not disclosedCell and gene therapymedium
eTheRNA immunotherapiesVenture-backed RNA/mRNA-LNP firm offering contract dev/manufacturing; positions as tech partner. Financial restructuring reported.NielPrivate equityTier 3not disclosedmRNA and LNPlow
Kaneka EurogentecBiologics CDMO: microbial proteins, GMP plasmid DNA, oligonucleotides, peptides; added GMP mRNA (made a COVID vaccine).SeraingPart of a pharma or industrial groupKanekaTier 3not disclosedBiologics and biosimilars, Microbial and protein, mRNA and LNP, Peptidehigh
Laboratoires SteropSterile injectables/ampoules maker (est. 1947); own essential-medicines portfolio plus CMO services. ~75% export.BrusselsFamily-ownedTier 3not disclosedSterile fill-finishhigh
Purna PharmaceuticalsNon-sterile CDMO: solids, semi-solids and liquids; OEB 1-5.PuursPrivate equityAmpersand CapitalTier 3not disclosedOral solid dosehigh

Size: Tier 1 (revenue over €1bn) · Tier 2 (€250m–€1bn) · Tier 3 (under €250m or niche).

Revenue, staff and site figures are as reported and mix audited accounts with commercial estimates, which are often wrong for private companies. Each row carries a confidence mark; verify a figure before quoting it.

Browse the census

Other European CDMO lists